Contact Us Licensee Login

Media Room

News Releases

2016/09/19Real Estate Council Welcomes Appointment of New Superintendent of Real Estate
2016/08/19Real Estate Council Suspends Licence of Jacob (Jack) Stephanian
2016/08/04Real Estate Council Cancels Licence of Denise Renee Decary
2016/06/29Government Announcement Regarding Real Estate Regulation
2016/06/28Real Estate Council of BC Releases Final Report of Independent Advisory Group
2016/05/10Media Release: New Contract Assignment Rules
2016/04/13Statement: Council Investigation of New Coast Realty
2016/04/12Real Estate Council Releases Progress Report of Independent Advisory Group
2016/04/08Council Establishes Licence Conditions For New Coast Realty
2016/04/05Guidance to Real Estate Licensees: Reporting Misconduct
2016/04/01Real Estate Council Strengthens Public Protection Through Enhanced Investigation and Enforcement
2016/03/27Council Supports Penalty Increases by Real Estate Board of Greater Vancouver
2016/03/18Premier’s Announcement of New Provincial Rules
2016/03/18FINTRAC Audits of Real Estate Brokerages
2016/03/15Council Supports Independent Advisory Group Terms of Reference
2016/02/22Independent Advisory Group Named
2016/02/12Complaints, Investigations, and Discipline Orders: 2014/2015
2016/02/09Superintendent of Real Estate to Chair Independent Advisory Group
2016/02/08Real Estate Council of BC: Media Statement

Archived News Releases




Established: 1958

Mandate & Authority:  The Real Estate Council of British Columbia is a regulatory agency established by the provincial government in 1958. Its mandate is to protect the public interest by enforcing the licensing and licensee conduct requirements of the Real Estate Services Act. The Council is responsible for licensing individuals and brokerages engaged in real estate sales, rental property and strata management. The Council also enforces entry qualifications, investigates complaints against licensees and imposes disciplinary sanctions under the Act.

Number of licensees: 23,000 (approx.)

Number of real estate brokerages (incl. branches): 1,400 (approx.)

Council composition: Up to 17 members, including 13 elected licensee members, 3 government appointed public members, and one strata owner representative member appointed by Council.

Number of Council staff: 48

Number of complaints (2014/15): 536

Number of hearings and consent orders (2014/15): 91

Chair:  Susan Lynch

Vice-Chair: Dennis Fimrite 

Executive Officer: Robert O. Fawcett

Elected Council Members: Allyson Brooke, Chris Brown, Harvey Exner, Dennis Fimrite, Marylou Leslie, Calvin Lindberg, Jennifer Lynch, Susan Lynch, Gerry Martin, Wendy Moreton, Joseph Pearson, David Peerless, Matthew Wallin

Public Members: Elana Mignosa, Colette Squires

Strata Owner Member: John J. Nagy


Learn more about: